Quo vadis Blockchain & Cryptocurrency?

April 2021

This is how we go digital: emineo accepts the cryptocurrency Ethereum

Cryptocurrencies and Blockchain are current topics of public discussion. On the one hand, the fervent advocates and, on the other, the critics. At emineo, we have the pleasure and challenge of talking to our Customers about the digital future and the various possible scenarios, and actively helping to shape them. Whether in insurance, public administration, the financial industry, health care, trade or the utilities sector; these topics are being contentiously discussed everywhere.

History shows how difficult it is to predict the future.

  • Thomas J. Watson senior, long-running CEO of the computer manufacturer IBM, stated in 1934: “I think there is a world market for maybe five computers and 5,000 copying machines”. The publicist and trend researcher Matthias Horx stated in 2001: “The Internet will not become a mass phenomenon”
  • “There is no reason why everyone should have a computer at home”, claimed Ken Olsen, founder of Digital Equipment Corporation in 1977.
  • “In two years, the spam issue will be solved”, promised Bill Gates in 2004.
  • “The Internet will go down like a spectacular supernova in 1996 in a catastrophic collapse”. This obviously wrong prediction comes from Robert Metcalfe, the founder of 3Com and inventor of the Ethernet connection, which is now the standard for cable-based networks.

We are certain that the future has not yet been written. In our opinion, Blockchain technology will prevail somewhere with a specific field of application and will be just as defining as the Internet or the smartphone.

emineo is already living the digital tomorrow today, in line with our motto “this is how we go digital”. As one of the first Swiss companies, our customers and partners can now also settle their invoices using the “Ethereum” cryptocurrency via the “emineo.crypto” address.

Share on email
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp

Contact

Meister

Patrick Meister
Head of Marketing & Communications

patrick.meister@emineo.ch
+41 58 861 21 13

<_
OTHER NEWS

Enter password to download

Quo vadis Blockchain & Cryptocurrency?

April 2021

So geht digital: emineo akzeptiert Kryptowährung Ethereum

Aktuell diskutiert die Öffentlichkeit die Themen Kryptowährungen und Blockchain. Auf der einen Seite die flammenden Verfechter und auf der anderen Seite die Kritiker. Bei emineo haben wir das Vergnügen und die Herausforderung, uns mit unseren Kunden über die digitale Zukunft und diverse mögliche Szenarien zu unterhalten und diese aktiv mitzugestalten. Egal, ob bei Versicherungen, in der Öffentlichen Verwaltung, der Finanzindustrie, im Gesundheitswesen, dem Handel oder der Versorgungswirtschaft – überall werden diese Fragestellungen kontrovers diskutiert.

Die Geschichte zeigt, wie schwierig es ist, die Zukunft einzuschätzen.

  • Thomas J. Watson senior, langjähriger Chef des Computerherstellers IBM konstatierte im Jahr 1934: «I think there is a world market for maybe five computers» and «5,000 copying machines». Der Publizist und Trendforscher Matthias Horx meinte 2001: “Das Internet wird kein Massenphänomen.»
  • «Es gibt keinen Grund, warum jeder einen Computer zu Hause haben sollte», behauptete Ken Olsen, Gründer von Digital Equipment Corporation im Jahr 1977.
  • «In zwei Jahren wird das Spam-Problem gelöst sein», versprach Bill Gates im Jahr 2004.
  • «Das Internet wird wie eine spektakuläre Supernova im Jahr 1996 in einem katastrophalen Kollaps untergehen». Diese ganz offensichtlich falsche Vorhersage stammt ausgerechnet von Robert Metcalfe, dem Gründer von 3Com und Erfinder der Ethernet-Verbindung, die heute der Standard für kabelbasierte Netzwerke ist.

Wir sind uns sicher, dass die Zukunft noch nicht geschrieben ist. Unserer Meinung nach wird sich die Blockchain-Technologie irgendwo mit irgendeinem Einsatzgebiet durchsetzen und genauso prägend sein wie das Internet oder das Smartphone.

emineo lebt das digitale Morgen bereits heute – ganz im Sinne unseres Mottos «so geht digital». Als eines der ersten Schweizer Unternehmen können unsere Kunden und Partner ihre Rechnungen ab sofort auch mit der Kryptowährung «Ethereum» über die Adresse «emineo.crypto» begleichen.

Share on email
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp

Kontakt

Meister

Patrick Meister
Head of Marketing & Communications

patrik.meister@emineo.ch
+41 58 861 21 13

<_
WEITERE NEWS

Enter password to download